It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often appreciated that academic subjects taught in schools are not necessary for orientation and learning practical matters such as home management, occupation, and interpersonal skills would be more beneficial for children. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement.

Practical matters may be too complex for children to be acknowledged, and they might not be helpful without academic knowledge. Initially, practical issues, such as home management, comprises a lot of skills and activities, such as spending control and organising furniture, might be too complicated for children to handle as children would have to deal with a considerable amount of work. Besides, practical skills involve many activities, some of which can only be tackled by utilising academic theories. For example, in order to master communication skills, children need to have an assortment of lexical resources to interact with other people. Therefore, I believe practical matters are out of children’s reach and can only function with the

help of academic subjects.

By contrast, grasping academic knowledge would be advantageous for children’s orientation in being more competitive in the workforce and gaining a deeper understanding of themselves. To begin with, the higher children’s education is, the better qualifications they may get. As a result, they often have more opportunities to be employed than those having fewer qualifications. Additionally, not only would children attain knowledge and skills by channelling effort into the academic curriculum, but they also attain a better understanding of themselves, such as weaknesses and flairs, thus contribute to making the right choices in their lives. For these reasons, I think that academic subjects are in essence of orientation for children.

In conclusion, as for the difficulty of practical matters and that they can only be with academic knowledge, my verdict is that learning academic subjects is of significance in children’s orientation regarding more job prospects and a better understanding of themselves.