It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills.

The issue whether schools should teach more practical matters rather than theoretical knowledge to their students has triggered a new round of heated debate in recent years. Some claim that students will reap benefits from learning practical knowledge like home management, communicative and soft skills. From my point of view, the importance of the academic knowledge outweighs that of practical one.

Admittedly, now with our entrance into the twenty-first century, too much academic knowledge is not enough for people to adapt to modern society better. Most people would agree on the point that seeking an ideal job mainly relies on practical skills. It is obvious that, in the past, old experienced employees did not have abundant theoretical knowledge, whereas they have good command of practical skills on that work. Indeed, practical skills promote people working competence and social skills, while academic knowledge is not very incompatible with the present work except scientific researches.

Despite the benefits, too much emphasis on practical instead of academic learning has a detrimental influence upon people’s long-term development. What is almost certain is that academic subjects have withstood the test of time. This knowledge was explored and recorded by our ancestors. Therefore, they represent our ancestors’ knowledge and wisdom which can be still effectively used in our work and daily life. Needless to say, correctness of practical skills needs to be verified by personal experience through a long period. Finally, it is the responsibility of parents, not teachers, to prepare their children to deal with the practical affairs of life. Parents’ behavior majorly affects their children’s lifestyle. For example, a father who is a successful businessman will descend his experience to his son or daughter so that his child can follow their father’s footprint to be successful.

To recapitulate, I once again reaffirm my notion that teaching academic subjects in school is entirely appropriate and practical skills should be learned from family and practice.