With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (physical education or cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, young people are put under pressure of succeeding in the academic fields to guarantee a promising position and decent salaries in multinational companies. As might be expected, many universities are setting new departments that offer job-oriented courses or expanding existing ones to enhance their enrollment, which leads to a growing doubt whether to eliminate the non-academic subjects like physical education and cookery from the curriculum or not. As far as I am concerned, this lopsided idea is not justified.

Career prospect is on most people's mind when choosing a major, but this can hardly justify the overemphasis on certain disciplines. First of all, education aims to improve one’s all-round abilities. For example, a student can do their best with a good foundation in terms of health, spirit and practical skills. Obviously, fitness helps us stay energetic to perform more precisely and relaxation refreshes our mind to make room for ingenious ideas. In addition to this, by dint of learning cookery, ones can take care of themselves when living far from their family. It is short-sighted to concentrate on certain subjects that are in great demand.

Another reason worth considering is that having professional skills is not the only thing valued by employers. To maintain their competitiveness and vitality, employers are increasingly bored with those graduates who only have rigid theoretical knowledge. Because of this, that students are made to spend all their times studying mathematics or languages to get a high-paid job is inappropriate. In Vietnam, for instance, thousands of students majoring in Accounting, Finance, International Trade, Law fail to get employed.

To recapitulate, this groundless emphasis will damage both individual and society at large. Each subject is just as important as any other. One can excel in any field if he is dedicated enough.