Some people believe that the responsibility for the protection of the environment is by a transnational organization, rather than by each individual country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the increasing exacerbation of environmental problems, people hold different views about how to cope with them. Some people argue that protecting the environment should be the duty of each individual nation, while others believe that it should be the responsibility of a cross-border organization. From my viewpoint, although each country needs to be responsible for the protection its own natural landscapes, there should also be an international governing body that monitors each country’s actions.

There are many reasons why everyone nation and its inhabitants should take responsibility for the protection of the environment. To begin with, despite being the common concerns, environmental degradation stems from various perpetrators. Therefore, each nation should implement different policies and measures to tackle the problem. To illustrate, record-breaking temperature and extended drought are identified as the main culprit for catastrophic fire conditions in Australia; whereas, the climate change, Santa Ana winds and sparks created by people in California converged to create deadly bushfire season in 2018. In addition to this, the people who live in a country are ones who will primarily affected by environmental destruction such as contaminated air and toxic emissions within that country, and it is these people who should be most concerned.

On the other hand, ironically, many nations are struggling with corruption. Hence, it is vital for an international organization to heighten people’s awareness about environmental issues. Many people around the world simply do not realize the short and long-term impacts that their actions have on the environment, and I believe that education is one effective answer to help solve this problem. Another cause of concern is that the actions of one country’s environmental destruction can have negative impacts on nearby neighboring countries, and this is where an international organization can help to monitor such circumstances.

To recapitulate, although environmental protection needs to be the responsibility of each individual nation, there should also be one transnational organization that educates and monitors environmental concerns. There are many countries, yet only one planet, and therefore there needs to be coöperation in order for a healthy and sustainable future.