Many parts of the world are losing important natural resources, such as forests, animals, or clean water. Choose one resource that is disappearing and explain why it needs to be saved.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Never in history are natural resources disappearing at such alarming rate as in this modern society. As human’s population is booming each year, people’s requirements are also increasing. We need more food, more fresh water, more places to live, which will result in the extinction of many essential and sometimes irreplaceable resources. From my viewpoint, it’s very crucial to save forests from the threat of disappearing because maintaining forests can save the other two natural resources namely water and animals.

There are many reasons why forests should not be damaged. To commence with, forests are the only shelter for a variety of fauna and flora which are vital resources for zoology and botany. Once making up about 40 percent of the world’s land area, forests are disappearing at an alarming rate. It is estimated that the world lost 1.3 million square kilometers of forest from the year 1990 to 2016. Secondly, due to whirlwind industrialization and urbanization, many forests are cut down in order to get open spaces. If this detrimental scenario continues, the endangered animals like white tigers, rhinoceros, orangutan will die out soon. For that reason, saving forests is important.

Also, forests are known as the Earth’s lungs as they control environmental problems. For example, a leafy tree is estimated to produce a day's supply of oxygen for two to ten people. Furthermore, trees bring rain to the Earth and maintain the fresh water level for all species. In some areas of India, where forests have been destroyed since 2015, people are traumatically suffering from drought. More than 80% of districts in the states of Karnataka and 70% in the state of Maharashtra have been declared drought affected. Consequently, they do not have water to cultivate crops and for daily needs. In addition to this, by slowing the flood flows, forests help the ground absorb more of the flash flood, avert soil erosion and property damage. Finally, it is lucrative for economy of a nation if forests are carefully maintained. In the country like India and China, for instance, all precious and scarce medicines to cure disease come from ancient forests like Himalaya.

To recapitulate, forests are treasures that should be preserved for their beauty and functionality. Deforestation must be seriously considered and promptly puzzled out by government.