Sentiments diverge on whether children should learn how to grow vegetables and raise animals in the primary school a disservice. Although there exist some drawbacks that schools should consider, I believe this idea is generally beneficial.

Admittedly, that is not to say that this proposal is without disadvantages. First, there is a chance that few students will ever incorporate this knowledge into their daily lives. This can be explained by the fact that with students living in urban areas, most will never raise livestock, while many living in apartments cannot have pets. Thus, learning about raising livestock in detail will not be helpful for them.

Notwithstanding these aforementioned upsides, alongside sunlight and water, food is one of the basic necessities of life. The reason is without these three things, human beings cannot survive, so it only serves to reason that it is highly important for children to learn how to provide themselves with the necessities of life. Therefore, teaching people, especially children, how to grow their own food, is the first step back toward sustainable living. Further and more prominently, learning how to grow your own food not only provides people with a sense of independence and freedom but also helps them to connect with nature, which is one of the most effective stress-relieving activities for people of any age. To be more accurate by learning how to grow food, children can learn about nature and will have a closer connection and better awareness of the food they eat. This is followed by this will help them to make smarter dietary choices and therefore create societies of healthier people.

By way of the conclusion, I believe the advantages of learning about how to grow vegetables and how livestock and other animals are raised far outweigh the disadvantages.