It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Sentiments diverge on whether children should learn how to grow vegetables and raise animals in the primary school a disservice. Although there exist some drawbacks that schools should consider, I believe this idea is generally beneficial.

Admittedly, that is not to say that this proposal is without disadvantages. First, there is a chance that few students will ever incorporate this knowledge into their daily lives. This can be explained by the fact that with students living in urban areas, most will never raise livestock, while many living in apartments cannot have pets. Thus, learning about raising livestock in detail will not be helpful for them.

Notwithstanding these aforementioned upsides, alongside sunlight and water, food is one of the basic necessities of life. The reasion is without these three things, human beings cannot survive, so it only serves to reason that it is highly important for children to learn how to provide themselves with the necessities of life. This leads to the current state of the world proving that globalization only causes more problems than it solves and therefore people must return to living in smaller, community-based societies where they are responsible for sustaining themselves, which means growing their own food. Therefore, teaching people, especially children, how to grow their own food, is the first step back toward sustainable living. Further and more prominently, learning how to grow your own food not only provides people with a sense of independence and freedom but also helps them to connect with nature, which is one of the most effective stress-relieving activities for people of any age.