It is widely believed that children of different levels of intelligence should be taught together while others thin that more intelligent children should be taught separately. Discuss and present your own opinion.

These days, there are many arguments regarding how to educate students of different ability levels. While some people claim that intellectually talented children should be grouped and taught isolated from regular students, I am of the opinion that a mixed-ability class would be a better choice.

On the one hand, the idea of teaching gifted students in a separate class may be feasible to some extent. These students are able to quickly obtain basic knowledge and thus, moving on to acquire knowledge at a higher level. When being grouped into specialist classes, they are not restricted but given the chance to be challenged to reach their full potential. This leads themselves to make even greater academic progress.

On the other hand, I believe that students of different academic levels should be mixed into the same class. First, when studying in the same atmosphere, not only teachers but brighter student can also help those who are less capable with their queries during the learning process. As a result, their wonders can be cleared and explained in detail, which helps improve their performance. Moreover, better students can be a positive role model for the others in terms of both academy and perseverance. This may provoke a sense of competitiveness and motivate them to try harder to catch up with their better peers. By giving these students a chance to be in the same atmosphere with the talented ones, no one will be left behind.

To conclude, it may be reasonable that streaming students based on their intelligence may helps these elite students to improve to their furthest extent. However, I still hold the opinion that giving a mixed-ability class will provide all students, especially the slower ones, with the chances to study better without anyone lagging behind.