It will be better for both society and individuals is driverless cars - cars can drive themselves- become more widely used. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since technology has shown great improvements in an unprecedented level, automobile cars have no longer been an unattainable dream. Many people then advocate that the use of those cars stands every citizen and the society as a whole in good stead holistically. From my point of view, I am of the opinion that driverless cars bring a myriad of advantages for both social and civil use.

The first thing to notice is that the utility of autonomous cars offers more convenience and accessibility to people. Undoubtedly, when drivers travel in an autonomous car, robotic systems will be responsible for directions, checking the surroundings and the like. As a result, users can make use of that spare time to watch movies, finish their work or simply relax. Moreover, self-driving cars can cater to the needs of the elderly or disabled people, who are limited to the use of cars. As cars are now autofunctioned, they can commute without any difficulties, thus promoting better travelling experience to all strata of the society.

Furthermore, when it comes to societal scale, the use of driverless cars can mitigate traffic accidents. While some claim that those cars pose more severe risks to people as they have no control of their driving, I believe that that fear is unjustifiable. Being equipped with state-of-the-art technology and effective sensing systems, autonomous cars can seek best routes, avoid other vehicles around and speculate the collisions. According to McKinsey, an automobile corporation, it is speculated that by 2050, when all citizens apply the use of self-driving cars, 90% of accidents on streets will have been impeded. Thus, driving fatalities will be alleviated and the safety of the society can be underpinned.

In conclusion, I am convinced that people benefit greatly from the application of autofunction cars, both socially and individually, including better driving experience, convenience, higher accessibility and safety.