Keeping animals in the zoo is the best way to protect wild animals. Do you agree or disagree?

In order to protect wild animals, it is argued that putting them in zoos is the best way. Personally, this statement is not true.

On the one hand, zoo animals may enjoy certain benefits. Firstly, in most zoos captive animals are not vulnerable to malnutrition or starvation. Animals raised in captive environment are fed by zoo caretakers on the daily basis and more importantly, there is no serious concern over the shortage of food for animals in the zoo. As a result, the animals are unlikely to suffer from undernourishment or hunger. Secondly, zoo animals are less likely to die from diseases. Thanks to medical aid from veterinarians, an animal’s ailments can be treated effectively, thus increasing their chance of survival.

Despite these advantages, raising animals in captivity brings about greater drawbacks. Confining animals to a human-made environment is to great extent responsible for unhealthy progeny. Obviously, caged animals are only allowed to mate with a small number of individuals, producing offspring with increased vulnerability to diseases. Furthermore, wild animals, once separated from their familiar environment, could be dead from depression. In fact, imprisoned animals are prone to anxiety or fear due to change in weather or home. Consequently, such aversive mental states often result in giving up eating with the result that death is to be expected. Based on this analysis, the better way to protect wild animals is raising them in nature reserves where they are free to breed with their chosen partners and can be guarded against health problems because of observation of vets.

In conclusion, it might be advantageous for animals to inhabit in human-made environment. However, they cannot grow as healthily as wild animals in nature reserves.