Some people believe that new buildings should be built in traditional styles.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

some argue that it is necessary for today’s buildings to be constructed in classical styles. Although such idea is plausible in certain areas, it should not be imposed on the overall architectural design of a country.

With the rapid expansion of housing, the emergence of modern accommodation with somewhat idiosyncratic features has disfigured the landscape of a well-established neighborhood rather than beautifying it, ultimately giving rise to a conviction that replacing these modern buildings with those with traditionally appealing features could be a solution. To illustrate, the construction of private hotels based on the owners’ preference of architectural styles in the Hoi An ancient town has dramatically spoiled the beauty of this town, a monumental and longstanding heritage of Vietnam. Therefore, were there an absence of changes in housing policies to rectify such mismatch, the whole historic site would be eventually aesthetically damaged, which would not only erode the locally structural uniqueness but also lead to the discontinuity of cultural values embedded in traditionally architectural styles.

Traditional building patterns are, nevertheless, not an invariable option for urban settlements where modern developments are an indication of growth of a society. In fact, as an economy becomes more sophisticated and expanded, residential areas or office blocks have to constructed in a fashion that can accommodate new and dissimilar requirements, such as an open-plan floor with a connected cooling system to maximize occupants’ convenience while minimizing the maintenance costs as much as possible. More significantly, contemporary constructions have to be designed with consideration of increasing population, so that there will be the least wastage of land resources, which is apparently the most formidable obstacle to any government. Consequently, should the traditionally building styles be widely adopted, city planners will certainly be faced with an insurmountable issue of creating conurbations conducive to further economic growth as well as satisfying residents’ needs.

in conclusion, it is undeniable that houses, steeped in the history of a country, always hold a fascination for people, which has resulted in thinking that their models should be replicated elsewhere; However, it is not rational to do so, as such idea could impede the growth of a country.