Each Year the Crime Rate Increases.

What Are the Causes of Crime and What Could Be Done to Prevent This Rise in Criminal Activity?

Crime is an issue of increasing concern across the world and the reasons behind this are numerous with high unemployment rates and the overuse of alcohol and drug being dominant. To address these issues, the government not only needs to tighten laws but also create more jobs and make necessary policies to reduce crime.

It is apparent that there is a direct link between unemployment with criminal behavior. To illustrate, in disadvantaged areas unemployed people are often struggling to generate sufficient income to provide for themselves or their dependents. Such problem would be exacerbated, were the government to fail to adjust the minimum wage so as to provide decent living conditions for the poor. In combination, many will likely resort to stealing as a means of sustaining themselves. Furthermore, alcohol and drug abuse are major contributing factors behind the rise in crime, as these substances often impair decision-making abilities and induce users to consider violence as a way to release pent-up frustration or to resolve disagreement.

To remedy the aforementioned issues, the government should introduce stringent laws to deter people from committing crime and longer sentences for persistent offenders. However, to effectively decrease criminal activity, it imperative for the authorities to ensure social equality through providing free or subsidized education to poor sections of a society, which can at least increase a poor individual’s employability. Simultaneously, more jobs should be generated to directly reduce unemployment and consequently poverty. More importantly, rehabilitation programs and reformatories need to be invested and upgraded thoroughly as they assist an ex-convict in reintegrating into society, thus gradually decreasing recidivism.

In conclusion, severe work shortages and the excessive consumption of alcohol and drug have generally resulted in the increases in the number of criminals. Therefore, a package of long-term solutions is required, more than just the imposition of harsher punishment.