In some countries around the world men and women are having children late in life.

What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

There are many countries where having children later in life has emerged as a growing trend among working parents. Such development can be an outgrowth of professional and budgetary considerations and they can pose great threats to family unity and child health.

Such parents often focus on the development of their career and ascend professional hierarchy. Obviously, parental care will cost a couple an inordinate amount of time especially in terms of teaching or feeding and attending babies when they are sick, and such demanding tasks will be huge obstacles in parents’ career path. Furthermore, financial stability also deserves serious consideration because raising a child would require a large proportion of a family’s finances. Moreover, due to today’s erratic economic climate, it is advisable not to have a child when parents are not well-prepared or otherwise they could confront with financial distress, adversely affecting the childrearing.

the repercussions of late pregnancy can be immense because of high rates of birth defects as well as age gap. The discrepancies in attitudes and perspectives of old parents and a young adult child can cause unresolved disagreements, such lifestyles and this could be the occasion of family separation, likely resulting in family breakdown. More significantly, another problem is the increased chance of health complications with infants. Many studies have indicated that unborn babies can be prone to health issues such as growth retardation, and this will have direct negative impacts on society as these children will be a burden rather than contribute to the growth.

in conclusion, although being pregnant when a couple are fully ready can offer certain benefits, the disadvantages regarding family happiness and the well-being of infants will be likely more serious.