Some People Believe That Violence On Television and In Computer Games Has A Damaging Effect On Society. Others Deny That These Factors Have Any Significant Influence On People's Behavior.

Dicuss Both Views and Give Your Opinion.

While some think that violent content displayed in computer games and on television is psychologically damaging to society, others posit that such effect on humans’ behavior is not significant. Although the impact is evident, exposure to violence in this way is not the main factor behind aggressive behavior.

The former’s point of view about the influence of violent scenes on people often predicate their argument on the fact that viewing too much aggressive acts can make children become desensitized to brutality and cruelty. This means they might become indifferent to others’ sufferings at least, or event opt for violence as a way to resolve disagreements. More importantly, a shortage of empathy has been identified as one of factors contributing to criminal activities and therefore, were there no method to regulate violently explicit images in movies and video games, there would be an increase in crime rates, especially among children.

Nevertheless, such damaging effect of violent images on society is not that dramatic because generally people are able to distinguish between real-life and fantasy situations. This ability is widely common among today’s individuals as most of they can have access to education where logical thinking and common sense are inculcated through out the curriculum. Hence, despite the abundance of violent content and the ease of access to it, there is no conclusive evidence to support the claim that exposure to violence can increase aggression. In fact, violent behavior is caused by a multitude of factors, such domestic violence or anxiety, and that exposure to violent content is just one of many possible contributors. And to specify the causes of hostile behavior in each person, it is imperative to conduct a personal investigation.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that brutal actions featuring in films and games might possibly contribute to the devleopment of anti-social behaviors, such content is not as significant as people think due to our ability to reason as well as the presence of other important factors which vary from person to another.