The government is responsible for protecting a nation’s cultural identity. Thus, some people believe new buildings

should be built in traditional styles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The government is responsible for protecting a nation’s cultural identity. Thus, some people believe new buildings should be built in traditional styles. In my opinion, I completely with this view.

On the one hand, there are understandable reasons why new buildings shouldn't be built in traditional styles. The first reason is that the overpopulation is increasing more and more popularly in the big cities. That has led to problem of insufficient living land become more serious than ever. Therefore, to use the land efficiently, the government should construct high-rise buildings in modern styles, which can provide people with lots of space floor to live and work. Another reason is that constructing buildings in modern and unique designs and equipped with advanced furnitures will partly make a professional and active look for a city or town. As a result, this will provides citizens with a higher standard of living.

On the other hand, instead of spending money on new construction built in traditional styles, government should try to preserve those that already exist. The old buildings represent both cultural and historical values of a country, some of them even become the witness of the history of a country, it is obvious that financial support to these building is very important to preserve them. Because they are live documents for educating young people about culture and tradition of previous generation in the past, thereby helping them have a respectful attitude to their history. Therefore, the authorities should try to restore these precious heritages, which maybe the best way to protect a nation’s cultural identity and keep them alive longer.

In conclusion, I believe that it is unnecessary to construct new buildings in traditional styles because they should be built in modern styles to address the overpopulation, besides government should try to preserve those that already exist instead of spending money on new construction built in traditional styles.