Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that in today’s workplace the experience of a professional is highly prized over their knowledge. Although knowledge is an essential part of any occupations, it is experience that allows companies in the modern knowledge-based economy to thrive.

Obviously, the importance of fundamental knowledge for workers cannot be underestimated. For example, to be employed, employees must at leas possess necessary credentials and working knowledge of basic abilities, such as numeracy, literacy or computing. Regarding vital professions such as medical practitioners and engineers, although some forms of knowledge can be acquired through work experience, it is crucial to build a boday of knowledge in advance for key professions, such as doctors and engineers since it serves as the foundation for mastering complex concepts later.

However, despite such importance, in today’s work environment knowledge can be effectively controlled by machines, and thus the emphasis is currently placed on developing skills to manipulate such knowledge. This is because information has become so voluminous that it is impossible to acquire it, making knowledge, in effect, play a secondary role to skills and experience. In fact, there is continuing high demand for workers with not only sophisticated skills in technology but also experiences in addressing unforseen problems. Therefore, were a person to lack such expertise, he would encounter numberous obstacles, causing many backlogs for the company.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that without thorough comprehension of fundamental knowledge, one could not perform well in the modern economy. However, with the development of technology, the focus has shifted onto building technical expertise which enables a person to effectively utilize knowledge.