The advancement of internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how people in other places live.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The internet has made it possible for people to learn almost anything about the culture of people in another country. Although this is true, learning about the cultures and customs of another country via a computer screen is vastly different to actually experiencing them first-hand.

Given the ever-increasing number of online vlogs on social networking sites, it is possible to travel across the world while enjoying the comfort of one’s private room. This is due to the fact that in attempt to attract custom to a particular destination, numerous content creators have been employed to produce videos featuring a selection of stunning aspects of that place, and as this trend continues, more original clips will certainly be shot to outdo previous ones, promoting a stiff competition in luring visitors. As a result, those scarcely having intention of visiting far-flung locations can benefit immensely from such cascade of footages - viewing experiences which were not as available in the past when travel magazines and publications were primary sources of information for the majority.

Despite such apparent advantage, the difference between what one exposes to on screens and what is in reality is, nevertheless, immense, thus making visitors’ in-person experiences more invaluable. In fact, producers of online videos can only give narrow interpretation of what they have seen, due to required limits on the length of a clip. Furthermore, there are certain aspects that are impossible to convey to our senses, such as smell and taste of local cuisines. For these reasons, were an individual to resort to virtual tours for travel, one would miss a great many indelible experiences. More significantly, being able to have a first-hand account of local traditions and customs could help a person properly appreciate their beauty and probably imbibe them, which obviously can enrich one’s life. In combination, it is safe to say these are elements that are unable to experience via screens although they are not necessarily desirable to everyone.

In conclusion, even though traveling through online tours in form of videos is an option that many people gravitate towards for different reasons, it is more beneficial to have a real experience of a place as not only one can be enlightened but also entertained by the unique characteristics of that place.