Many of the products we buy nowadays break or wear out very quickly.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for manufacturers and the public?

Many today’s items are easily prone to breakage over a relatively short period of time. This is a complex issue as such fragility encourages the development of new technology but this also means a huge amount of waste for the public, while the short lifespan helps a manufacturer to generate more profits, which might not be applicable to new producers with limited capital.

Apparently, the latest innovations often stem from the need to enhance the quality of existing technology. Such requirement is evident in the automobile industry where today’s cars are highly vulnerable to wear and tear after a few years, due to road conditions and higher usage. This flaw, however, has spurred car makers to invest heavily in their manufacturing technology, resulting in marked improvements in the lifespan of later models. Simultaneously, rapid advancements in technology and design have also resulted in a rise in the number of abandoned vehicles, as evidenced by the abundance of electric car "dumping sites" in China, which is an indication of misspending and environmental pollution.

In terms of manufacturers, they can be beneficiaries of this problem. Certain fragile items are always on high demand as consumers frequently have to seek replacements for them. Therefore, the producers can increase their revenues from manufacturing the most breakable components of such products, and in fact Apple has gained huge profits just from producing replaceable components, such as iPhone screens, even of previous models. Nevertheless, manufacturing “low-quality” products might not be advantageous to newly emerged manufacturers, since these good will certainly lead to immediate dissatisfaction for their customers, thus severely damaging the company’s reputation.

In conclusion, the effects of wear and tear of goods can be both positive and negative for users and producers. More advanced technologies can be accrued from this trend, but they are also the primary source of certain problems.