Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities

to what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is argued that the high demand for housing in major urban settlements can only be addressed by the government. Personally, I think this is impossible as this social issue necessitates the joint effort of both the public and government.

One of main objections to government intervention is that it can hamper the private sector and pose a huge burden on the national budget. Such problem can be insurmountable in underdeveloped countries where budget constraints are persistent and homeless populations are fairly large. Consequently, the involvement of private property developers is required and recommended, which would otherwise not release the government from the burden of funding large-sized programs. Furthermore, given the role of private sector in regulating the relationship between supply and demand, they are considered an agent of fostering housing industry.

Despite such apparent benefits, governmental aid is essential in certain segments of market. It is obvious that single parents, the disabled and disadvantaged are those who cannot afford commercial housing. This indicates that they are in pressing need of governmental support in the form of housing allowance or even economical houses, albeit the success of such help programs resting much on the efficiency and willingness of both giving and receiving parties. However, it is not an overstatement to say that barring governmental assistance, a relatively considerable portion of society cannot have access to proper accommodation.

in conclusion, in dealing with inadequate housing, the cooperation between the government and private section is of the essence. While governmental help is of great use to low-income and vulnerable people in need of housing, the other can have a positive influence on the market.