Today people are wasting large amounts of food.

Why?

What can be done to reduce the amount of food wasted?

It is documented that the amount of wasted food is proliferating to an alarming degree and the prominent cause for such development is the excessive purchase of food. Therefore, one of the viable solutions to this is to teach people to become wise consumers and how to use food more efficiently.

Since the advent of food technology, humans have devised numerous scientific techniques, such as gene modification technology, to produce food in vast quantity, and although this has substantially allayed the concern over food scarcity across the world, it has also given rise to enormous food wastage. This stems from the fact that a cascade of promotions and advertisements have been done by malls or supermarkets to entice buyers to spend on products, especially perishable ones such as dairy products, produce and meat, so as to keep the inventory at manageable levels. However, this has simultaneously resulted in greater food wastage, as people are apt to buy more than they can consume, which is readily evident in many Vietnamese households nowadays after their family feasts.

To address such issue thoroughly, a nationwide media campaign against the immoderate use of food should be launched. Such activity ought to aim at raising the public awareness of the consequences of huge amount of wasted food on the environment and personal finances to help people reconsider their buying behaviors and more importantly, become discerning buyers. Moreover, people as well as food and beverage serving establishments need to be equipped with knowledge about how to recycle or reuse the leftover for other useful purposes. To illustrate, damaged parts of vegetables and food scraps can be collected to make compost heaps which serve as nutrient-rich fertilizer for gardening or farming, thus not only effectively curbing the amount of food waste but also forming a positive feedback loop in terms of production and consumption.

In conclusion, the dramatic scientific advancements in food industry have fostered greater food production, ultimately leading to overbuying in certain countries, and consequently, a host of remedies, primarily based on changes in consumer behaviors and ways of handling food waste, should be implemented.