Many of the products we buy nowadays break or wear out very quickly.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for manufacturers and the public?

The longevity of current products, including items like food or clothing is notably shorter than that of their predecessors. While this shift can bring increased incomes for manufacturers and affordable prices for the public, the drawbacks are not negligible as well.

To begin with the advantages, making products with lower durability can be of great benefit to manufacturers. The quicker products are worn out, the sooner people may have to purchase them. For instance, the necessity of frequently replacing clothes due to their diminished durability amplifies manufacturers' sales volumes, consequently bolstering their revenues. As for the positives to the public, they are likely to enjoy low-cost products. More specifically, when manufacturers opt for shorter lifespans in their products, they often price them more competitively. Consequently, consumers are prompted to explore a wider array of products on a more frequent basis.

However advantageous this change can be, the erosion of consumer trust and limitation of quality options are the main drawbacks that come along. Regarding the former, less durable commodities can damage the trust between the sellers and consumers which can even make people stop buying from those shops. In restaurants, for instance, ingredients must be fresh all the time to ensure the safety; if purchased food products cannot stay longer, they may compromise the quality of the final dish. To avoid such situations, chefs may opt to switch suppliers. When it comes to the public, there are consumers who prioritize longevity over affordability. Such people may fail to find durable, high-quality options owing to the prevalence of short-lived products, which can lead to customer dissatisfaction.

In conclusion, although there are financial benefits for companies and affordability for consumers, the frequency of short-lived products may lead to a loss of consumer trust and dissatisfaction. Hence, striking a balance between affordability and quality remains imperative in the pursuit of sustainable consumption patterns