Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

Opinion is divided as to whether genetic engineering could effect detrimental effects on health of humans and other forms of life or not. Although such scientific advances could help areas with extreme climates to fulfil their nutritional requirements, these practices raise concerns over the safety of native plants and public health.

The former view is predicated on the premise that by manipulating gene codes of plants, they can thrive in harsh conditions. Such idea has been proved to be successful in countries, such as Israel where a majority of the land is desert and inhospitable to most vegetation. By inserting, therefore, codes of plants with great resistance to the scarcity of water and vital minerals into the local vegetables, the crop yield has increased significantly to not only meet the local demand but also export the surplus.

The advocates of the latter view, however, indicate that scientifically modified seeds can pose serious threats to native flora as well as humans’ health in the long-term. This is because pollen from such seeds can accidentally travel by wind or birds to neighboring fields and pollinate with non-GM plants, which can result in uncontrolled varieties that are potentially harmful to local plants. More significantly, such unexpected mutation can affect the well-being of consumers unnoticed. Some studies have demonstrated that consuming genetically produced foods, like tofu, on a regular basis has induced some children to reach puberty faster, and caused some disturbing changes in behavior.

In conclusion, despite the benefits predominately related to production of crops, this kind of foods is harmful to both plants and humans in alarming manners.