The advancement of internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how people in other places live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that in this era of technological advancements, it is no longer necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries' cultures and customs. Whereas I agree with this viewpoint in some respects, I also believe that authentic experiences cannot be replaced by this development.

On the one hand, due to advances in technology, it has become much more convenient for users to acquire knowledge about foreign countries. In the past, people used to rely on newspapers or books to perceive the traditions of other nations, which was not always up-to-date. These days, nevertheless, with the aid of the Internet, it is straightforward for everyone to gain access to infinite information about the lifestyles and customs of foreigners at the click of a button. Furthermore, the Internet has become an economical and less time-consuming way to explore the world. In other words, for those who are busy with their work or study and do not have time to travel abroad, they are still able to gain experiences via virtual platforms without worrying about time and expenses.

On the other hand, visiting a country in person provides a more profound experience as well as long-lasting memories. For instance, imagine the difference between watching how Vietnamese farmers grow their paddy fields directly and learning it via a computer screen. Being there to enjoy real experiences with the farmers will definitely leave us with a deeper impression. Besides, a majority of information uploaded on social media is merely the bright side of a country, and some aspects are hidden for economic purposes. Therefore, what people see on social media about other nations is just the tip of the iceberg. Visiting a country first-hand, on the contrary, would create an in-depth feeling about people and life there.

By way of conclusion, although I agree to a certain extent that the Internet can provide people with knowledge of other countries, it is also my personal belief that real-life experiences bring about more benefits and therefore cannot be substituted.