Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, people hold various views as to whether university students should only study subjects critical for the future or they should be given the freedom to have their own choice. Whereas there are some persuasive arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that everyone can study their preferred areas.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why subjects related to science or technology are considered useful in the future. Firstly, breakthroughs seen in fields such as medicine, education, entertainment are all due to scientific researches as well as technological advancements, which means that they have a crucial role to play in this current world. Accordingly, a focus on science and technology in higher education would lead to new inventions for the country, resulting in greater national prosperity. Secondly, by forcing students to learn certain subject areas, the government is able to fill gaps in the education system so that many professional citizens would be trained and thus contribute to sustainable development of the nation.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that students have the opportunity to study whatever they like. To embark on, they will benefit more if they are allowed to focus their time and energy on areas they have passion for instead of being forced to learn a bunch of subjects that they have no interest in. For instance, if some students are tempted to language-related subjects rather than number-related ones, they should have the freedom to develop themselves to their full potential. Furthermore, we are all unable to accurately predict which fields will be essential in the future. For example, there may be a considerably increasing demand for creative or literary skills in the next few decades, leaving those who specialize in science or technology incapable of adapting to that development, which results in a decreased quality of life in some parts of society.

By way of conclusion, although there are some sensible reasons for universities to focus only on important subjects, I reaffirm my position that everybody should have the right to study whatever they love.