The animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in sea.

What are the reasons and solutions?

A great number of species are on the verge of extinction owing to environmentally detrimental activities impacting their terrestrial and aquatic habitats. This essay attempts to point out the two common causes of this phenomenon and propose some remedies.

Firstly, today’s world population is increasing unabatedly with the result that a widening amount of forest cover is felled for residential areas and industry. These forests harbor a great proportion of biodiversity and are breeding or feeding grounds for local animals, so it seems inevitable that, as they disappear, a huge number of species are going extinct. Secondly, untreated waste from industrial companies account for most of poor water quality in local areas, which is responsible for the destruction of marine life. For example, small creatures like shrimps or fish are highly vulnerable to even a small amount of polluted water. Consequently, sea mammals, such as whales and seals, feeding on those species are driven to extinction due to shortage of healthy nourishment.

As analyzed, solutions need to center around preserving animal habitats. Therefore, governments should have stringent controls over logging activities and waste disposal from industrial businesses. For instance, the authorities can set higher environmental standards to alleviate negative impacts on animal. Additionally, they have to police these potential sources of pollution to ensure that industrial companies comply with the standards. More importantly, in case companies perpetually violate the standards, they are to be subject to heavy fines. By doing this, establishments have to think twice and in fact, in many tropical countries like Malaysia, these steps have proved to be effective in deterring environmentally inconsiderate companies from destroying the ecosystem.

In short, deforestation and untreated sewage are the prevalent causes of pollution in the world. To stop this, rigorous regulations and hefty fines are of necessity.