Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does this cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

It is certainly true that , advertisements have a great influence on people's mind and the big multinational companies invest exorbitant amount of money on advertising and promoting the sales of their product, attracting consumers to buy their products.

Large businesses advertise their products on television, newspapers, baner and posters around the city to grab attention of the people. They pay huge amount of money to the celebrities or famous personalities to be the brand ambassadors of their product, in order to increase consumerism. For instance, Virat Kohli, world famous Indian cricketer was seen on TV ad of latest Samsung mobile phone. Fans and especially young generation tend to follow their ideal figures blindly, resulting in the increase in the number of impulse buyers. Therefore, people tend to buy more and more products even if they do not need them as well as over their budget.

The big businesses like supermarkets and D-marts even try to lure public by giving tempting offers on the purchases and even using attractive packaging. For instance, if people shop for more than 30 pounds on their first purchase, they would get 5 pounds off over their next purchase. However, this trend has had a negative impact on local businesses as more and more people are preferring supermarkets. As a result, local markets are on a verge of extinction. People should be made aware about the local products and their benefits. For example, the products like fruits and vegetables sold at small retail shops are locally produced and are much fresh and nutrient dense than those at supermarkets. In addition, government should help local shops by promoting and marketing weekly market fare where stalls can be put to sell local products.

To conclude, as a result the marketing and promotions multinational companies have escalated their sale immensely, however it is causing detrimental effects on the society as well as small enterprises. People should think twice before investing into unnecessary products and to consume local products.