Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been an increasing number of shopping malls being built, leading to the disappearance of small shops. I believe that this change brings about both positive and negative impacts, though the impacts are more positive in the long term.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that small stores can bring a wide range of benefits to communities. For example, family-run businesses are likely to provide goods with competitive prices. The reason is that they do not have to spend much money on taxes and rental fees. Moreover, people who are in a hurry often choose the nearest locally owned shops instead of large malls to buy stuffs.

On the other hand, the boom in the number of trade centers has offered customers a multitude of conveniences. First of all, people can save time shopping thanks to the availability of many types of stores located in a mall. It provides groceries, clothing, books, foods and entertainment facilities. That all under the one roof could meet the demand of people in any age.

Furthermore, the architecture and promotions of shopping malls are other factors that lure customers. Designers usually use hard flooring in hallways because they believe that women will buy more if they hear their heels clicking on polished hard surfaces. Besides, that most large malls provide convenient and secure parking facilities makes people feel safe and enjoy shopping. Discounts and promotions are also regularly offered, which is a strength of trade centers compared to smaller stores.

In conclusion, that more and more customers are choosing to shop at

shopping malls instead of small shops is a part of urbanization process. However, this does not mean separate stores should be completely replaced because each type of businesses has own benefits.