Parents often give children everything they ask for and do what they like. Is it good for children? What are the consequences when they grow up?

Parental approaches to raising children surely play a vital role in a child's development. Many parents often over-indulge their offspring, and I believe that this method would negatively impact their individual growth and have consequences as they enter adulthood.

It is human nature to love their children, however pampering is a poor choice of rearing. Parents often provide everything their children want, which would make children bear in mind that they deserve to receive anything they wish no matter how unreasonable requirement is. Of course, the pampering also greatly affect the formation of the child's personality. Children who are indulged excessively will be arrogant, aggressive, hard to control their emotions not only with friends but even with adults older than them, which was thoroughly researched by Dr. Grinker and published in the American Journal of Psychiatry in 2005.

There are more significant effects when children grow up. Firstly, they lose the ability to solve problems themselves due to too dependent on parents when they were kids. A simple barrier in their life or work may become an insurmountable adversity, which can lead to failure in life. Furthermore, according to one research also shown that children who were pampered at a young age were also more likely to become isolated individuals in class and society, had poor academic performance and a higher rate of alcohol, smoking and fights compared to those who do not or little pampered.

In conclusion, over-indulgence is a harmful practice that leaves major bad effects on children and the consequences that last into adulthood. Therefore, parents should search and replace with a more proper rearing style.