In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the modern society today, it is easily observed the emergence of a new tendency in which residents of metropolitan regions often opt for living by themselves or in nuclear families in lieu of multi-generational family units. In my perspective, albeit this trend has some benefits, I believe that also goes along with some negative impacts, and this essay below will outline them.

On the one hand, there are a few profits for people to earn when they live alone or in a conjugal family. Firstly, the young will have advantageous conditions to update themselves. It is easily to witness that most of the students nowadays who have dreams of continuing their education at higher levels are made to stay away from their home, that means that no longer parents around they have got to become more independent and confident in taking care of themselves and producing decisions in daily life as a result. Additionally, the difference in lifestyle between the young and the old is also a remarkable reason. The majority of mature dwellers prefer to live a slow-paced, peaceful, healthy life during the rest of their time in the countryside rather than a hectic, fast-paced one in hustle and bustle cities, whereas the youth consider freedom as one of the foremost criteria that must has in their life since they do not wish to follow the norms in life of their parents and grandparents. Therefore, living alone allows them to enjoy their life by the way they please, please imagine that, you can let your room untidy or come home late owing to hanging out with your friends without having to face constant judgment or criticism.

On the other hand, this trend also brings several drawbacks. First of all, the long-lived citizens often suffer from diseases such as heart attack or mental problems, and due to living alone, they are in the absence of the care and attention from their children and grandchildren, which is a really dangerous situation. Secondly, when children are not under the same roof with their grandparents, they potentially miss out on valuable life lessons from their grandparents. More seriously, if people choose live single or in only two-generations family groups, the link between generations will gradually fade away.

In conclusion, the shrink of household size is accompanied by both merits and demerits. Personally, I have faith in that the advantages of this tendency can not outweigh the disadvantages.