Some cities have few controls over the design and construction of housing and office buildings. People think that they should be free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some cities, the residents are comfortable in the design of their homes or office buildings in their own way due to government construction regulations in those places are limited. Although owners can gain some certain benefits, I believe that adverse impacts exceed positive effects that this trend can bring.

On the one hand, oversights loosened in building design will bear some benefits. First of all, it creates a condition for creativity. This allows designers and house owners to be more open to new ideas and to freely experiment with new materials and designs, which may finally lead to the arrival of more innovative and unique buildings. That will generate vivid images for the area and energetic atmosphere. Secondly, the freedom to choose the shape and structure of houses or buildings give owners an opportunity to show their personal preferences, while some may be passionate about a traditional design, others might enjoy a more modern style. In addition, office buildings are erected with creation can help employees enhancing work performance. For example, big companies such as Google, Facebook did not hesitate to work hard to arrange the best working space for staffs, not even regretting money to get a " million-dollar view" office.

On the other hand, I think that the disadvantages of this trend are more significant. Firstly, houses and office buildings which are built without any strict or unique building codes may be vulnerable to serious damage, especially natural disasters. For instance, accommodations in parts of central Vietnam, where there are few regulations from the government on their construction. Due to this lack of government control, whenever a fierce storm passes the region, thousands of houses lose their roofs, and even worse, are sometimes completely collapse, that serious menace to life and property. Furthermore, if authorities do not control of building design, the uniformity of a city can be distorted. This may damage the look of a region and it loses the beauty inherent in that place. Take Hoi An as an example, where is well-known attract millions of tourist each year with its traditional beauty. Therefore, when someone building a house followed by a modern style, it will ruin the traditional value of the city. As a result, the number of visitors coming there will be decreasing.

In conclusion, although the freedom of building design can have many positive effects, In my perspective, these advantages are overshadowed by the drawbacks.