Some cites have few controls over the design and construction of housing and office buildings. People think that they should be free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a number of cities have rules on designing and construction in the way building is built. Some say that they need freedom of designing of their houses and factories as per their ways. In this essay, I will explain both benefits and demerits of the argument and why I think the advantages of having the freedom to design is superior.

Those who believe that when a limit in the structure of buildings has positive developments have their justifications. When authorities ban certain things in terms of designing a building, companies will not use more spaces for expanding offices and factories. This leading to more trees will save, resulting in more benefits to the environment such as clean air, more rain, and many more. A law, for instance, has shown since limits were put on the designing of houses and corporations by the Canadian government in 2009, nearly 45% more chances of raining and 50% of decrement in polluted air happened. Hence, the less space will use for businesses, the more benefits to living conditions.

If people have the right of designing their own houses and workplaces, it will bring satisfaction to them. This may be leading them to have better productivity and creativity, resulting in fewer chances of having mental disorders and family problems. For example, a survey by the University of Yale showed that over a majority of 10, 000 people in California found happier since they moved into their designed dream houses than those who do not. Therefore, the more people have their dream houses with their preferred designs and colors the more they live happily.

In Conclusion, although having a limit in designing of living and working areas which has benefits to the environment, still people have chances to have a mental illness. In my words, despite having a number of advantages to nature, it is necessary for people to have the freedom to design their offices and home, because it will give them peace.