Parents often give children everything they ask for and do what they like. Is it good for children? What are the consequences when they grow up?

Many parents are willing to accommodate all their children’s needs and give them freedom to do whatever they like. This action can be both beneficial and detrimental at the same time, but I believe that it will spoil children and result in a society of selfish individuals in their adulthood.

The fact that parents respond to all requirements of their children is both positive and negative. The benefit of this action is that since parents give children a sense of self-fulfilment, they would have a rewarding and fulfilling childhood. In fact, by giving the youngster the chances to do as their desires and possess what the dream of such as smart phone or toys, they do not have the need of being jealous with their peers. However, this could trigger some adverse impacts on children like selfish and having a sense of entitlement. For instance, if a child is easily get everything in life without having to work for them, he would be lack of commitment or care toward his life, which could lead to laziness and irresponsibility in his future adulthood.

Accommodating all their children’s needs will adversely affect their growth in some extend. Firstly, children can become selfish, because they never care about how hard their parents did to give them things they asked for, therefore when they grow up, they never concern about others. A child, for example, who was served any dishes he like, may never take the taste of other members in his family into account even when he grows up. Furthermore, this acts from parents could weaken the children’s abilities to adapt to challenging environments without their parents. A telling example is that a child who is over-rely on computers with an internet connection could not stand even a day without it.

In conclusion, parent’s response to whatever children want can give them a rewarding childhood but increase their laziness, and it might turn them into a selfish and over-reliant adult.