Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that by reflecting upon the past serve no real benefits for people who live in present world. From my perspective, i completely disagree that we do not receive any meaning by looking back to the past.

Firstly, by learning the past people continuously inherit their knowledge which is relevant in their age to younger generations. This is particularly true to younger generations who did not experience it compared than their predecessor. For instances, there are a lot of stories and movies revolving around second world war. For youngsters that never feel it directly, they can only know how bad the damage caused from that war and how sad it was to live in that era by receiving stories from war veterans that survive that grim time and watching documentary film based on historical fact.

Another point is that, constant reflection to the past remind us to appreciate the historical event that had happened. It is necessary for people nowadays to looking back at the past and value the results of innovation and discovery found by many great peoples in that time. For example, the event of black death that almost wipe out one-third population of Europe in fifteenth century lead to discovery of how valuable it is to maintain a healthy and clean environment to prevent disease spread in a population. It is now clear from that event, the black death plague never happen again in the present world with full realization of better public health care system and better sanitation.

In conclusion, by constantly assessing the past we are able to deepen our understanding about our world and respect our ancestor effort to tackle every problem they encounter for the sake of better future.