Language is essential for everyone to communicate. English being the most significant is widely used in many countries. Therefore in most schools, academic are taught in English so that the child get recognition worldwide. However teaching English in school has definitely impacted many regional languages to a great extent. This essay will discuss why native language needs to be taught too and how to keep these languages alive to certain extent.

In today’s world of globalization, people need to travel to various countries and communicate to people of different origin. For reason a common language which is recognized worldwide needs to be learnt prior to travelling international. English is a language, people of most countries speak and it has becomes an essential language for people to gain recognition even in cooperate world. Many companies from developed countries are setting up their branches in developing countries, reason being various. For gaining opportunity in these reputed organisations, one definitely needs to know English so that they can communicate with foreign delegates or foreign customer. For example many call centres have sprung up in India and has created opportunities for many people, reason being India has a good number of people speaking English language fluently. Therefore, in today’s world for a person to be successful, one should know how to read and write in English.

People should definitely try to safeguard their regional language. There are still many people who are comfortable in speaking their native language and due to situation have to speak in English. There are many places where people are bond together based on native language. Schools should therfore incorporate in the academic one regional language as well as national language, so that children learn and will not feel shy to speak in their native language. Apart from school, parents rather than speaking to their children in English, needs to communicate to their children in their native language. In this way their language and culture will remain intact. Also watching regional channels in their native language will prevent the extinction of their language. For examples in south India many families talk to their children in their mother tongue also at home prefer watching the TV serial in their regional language only. Thus Tamil regarded as one of the oldest language known has still been in demand in the south.

To conclude, English though is essential for a person to prosper, one should not forget his own mother tongue. It is the regional language only that binds people of a particular society or nation together. So even though English is important for career growth, regional or national language is important for building relationship in a society.