Due to globalization, many students prefer working or living in other countries. Learning foreign language has numerous advantages over student who are monolingual. So definitely learning foreign language is beneficial. This has certainly steered debates as when this needs to be introduced in school. Many people are of the opinion that foreign language needs to be taught in secondary school. However, I am of the opinion that foreign language should be introduced in primary school as the children can get sufficient time to gain control over the language.

Student who are bilingual have numerous advantage over their peer who are monolingual. This creates more job opportunities for bilingual student. Companies do recruit people who know foreign languages as this is beneficial for the company itself. There are examples where a person having Chinese as a foreign subject in school was recruited by a renowned Chinese school to teach English to their children. That person being bilingual could very easily relate English words with Chinese. This helped the children to learn faster.

Learning foreign language in primary school has its own advantages. Firstly, Children at such a tender age can very easily grasp information. This becomes very easy for them to learn new language. Secondly, children will have sufficient time till they graduate to become fluent in that language. The disadvantages are they being adolescence they will be heavily burden with an additional subject. They may also get confused with words and may end up mixing both the languages. Also many do not get to decide the subject of their choice.

However learning foreign language in secondary has advantage because students are comparatively matured enough to decide the language of their choice. They are also easily can relate to words which make them learn the language quicker as compared to primary children. The disadvantage is they have limited period to gain fluency of the language.

So to conclude, learning foreign language is definitely advantageous and it will be best if this is being introduced at an early age especially in primary school. Though there are disadvantages in learning the foreign language at such an early stage of life, the advantages overweigh them.