Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Because English is now considered as the international language, it is taught frequently in other nations all around the world. Some evaluate that it is critical for students to study academic English at school than develop their mother tongue knowledge. Some also raise concern on whether stop teaching children their local languages can lead to a rareness of these or not. From my perspective, although learning English is critical, we need to upheld the national tongue.

To begin with, English is spoken in almost all countries worldwide of which can be an advantage of students if they have adequate understanding. By teaching English at school parallelly with other subjects, pupils are provided themselves with numerous basic concepts, thus they can search for authentic study materials or read novels and journeys which are written in this language. In addition, with English skills, students are able to communicate with foreigners and somehow they can boost their own confidence and even apply for famous school abroad. For instance, when I was in grade 8, there was an English eloquent contest at school where I can see a lot of confident mates showing their skills of speaking English. Most of them now are studying oversea and have a great deal of chance to develop.

Regardless, some people underrate an importance of national speech and do not let their children learn these seriously which can lead to lots of consequences such as dimmed national culture and an uncommon of mother tongue. This is because local languages which have a wide range of variant through out a country reflect symbols, culture, custom of nations that can be their signature. Take Vietnamese as an object lesson, we have a capacity to identify where one person comes from due to their speech's specific nature, thus we can have some bias for them and guess their habit to have suitable behaviors. Additionally, I remember that a great man had said that a nation only survives when their people do not lose a national language. Vietnam came across 1000 years of being controlled by China, however, the Vietnamese people still conserve and envident an importance of the survival of our mother tongue.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that learning English maybe essential for individuals’ career path and development, however, the survival of local languages also possesses their criticalness of the survival of national habits and customs.