Over the last few years, many schools have included foreign language in their curriculum. Indeed, these types of schools have increased markedly especially in developed countries like U.K., USA and so on. However, it is argued by some people that foreign language should be started at primary school instead of beginning at secondary school. I completely agree with this idea. In this essay, I will support my idea with relevant examples.

Undoubtedly, primary school is the best place to embark teaching foreign language. Children are usually receptive and flexible to alien language. Moreover, learning can be made interesting and attractive by the use of toys. Over and above that, they tend to imitate and produce same types of pronounciations without any inhibitions and self-consciousness of their older ones. Also, they are free to study pristine language without any pressures.

Secondly, children tend to gain self confidence. For instance, telling story in front of the audience in foreign language. Not only they would be motivated to learn more but also it broadens their horizon. That is to say, they get excellent opportunities to be familiar with different cultures. For this reason, they tend to have bright future career abroad as most employers are generally impressed by those employees who are acquainted with different languages and cultures.

On the other hand, studying foreign language at secondary school can be ineffective and inefficient. To put it in another way, students during this time are generally very busy in academic subjects like physics, chemistry and maths. Which is why they tend to give less priorities to foreign language and moreover they are under huge pressure from teachers and parents to get distinction in their native subjects. In addition, they tend to be very anxious, nervous and embarrassed readily on minor mistakes.

In a nut shell, primary school is ideal for learning foreign language than in the secondary due to vital factors like extreme sensitivity and open nature of children.