Lectures given by teachers in universities used to be the only ways of teaching students, however, nowadays, technology has evolved and made it possible to study online. This cause many people to believe that lecture system will not be needed in the future. Do you agree/disagree?

The traditional teaching method in tertiary education is learning in classrooms and it has changed because of technology development. Although some people argue that e-learning will take over from traditional classrooms in the future, I disagree with this view because learning in class is the best approach to gain knowledge for students and it is impossible to study online most of the science subjects.

Students in universities could learn from a variety of resources but their primary and reliable knowledge will come from lectures at school. In-class teaching helps students focusing more on the topics, communicating directly with their teachers and reducing many distractions that can affect students when they study online. It also lifts the learning spirits of students, which hardly have when they do distance learning by the engagement between students and lecturers. For example, a recent survey of the University of Laurier revealed that 80% of students feel more motivated to learn in class than sitting at home to study on the internet and the students who came to class regularly achieved the higher results than those who attend lectures rarely.

Another reason why professors will never be replaced by computers is that a lot of subjects like biology, chemistry, physic can not teach online completely because these courses will involve in laboratory experiments, which only can be conducted at school. However, it is true that online study is giving a great opportunity for poor students who can not afford to pay for tuitions, and modern technology can not fully substitute lectures, but it has supported educators to make the contents of lectures more fascinatingly by using videos, internet access. For instance, Conestoga college is using interacting boards in all classes to help teachers to access instantly in huge data from their library and students are very satisfied with this.

In conclusion, although technology can help students learning online, they are still not a replacement for learning in class because it is a more effective study method for students and many of them can only complete their degrees by carrying out studies in labs.