Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in major cities in Vietnam.

What are the reasons for this? Suggest some solutions.

Major metropolises in Vietnam have witnessed an alarming rate of juvenile delinquency in the past few years. From my perspective, the deficiency of parental supervision and the increasing level of poverty are the primary causes, and better parental care, as well as vocational education provided by the government, can tackle the problem and lower the crime rate.

Firstly, the root cause of youth crime lies in the way adolescents are nurtured by family members, particularly their parents. For the best development of children, parents have to treat them with love, care, and support throughout their childhood. However, the sad reality is that contemporary parents tend to be workaholics in the belief that: if they have higher incomes, their children will have a more fulfilling life. Therefore, they inadvertently neglect their children, and what is more serious, they are not capable of giving advice or support to their children when it is most needed. To solve this, parents must spend more time with their children to shape children’s thoughts and behaviors; thus, this may restrain children from making mistakes and then committing a crime.

Another considerable factor is abject poverty caused by globalization, which widens the yawning gap between the wealthy and the impoverished. This inevitably means that those who were unfortunately born in indigent families and are reluctant to work industriously, turn to robbery and theft. I assume that strict sanctions are only able to partially mitigate youth crime, alternatively, the government should send young criminals to juvenile detention centers, where they can have a chance to improve themselves and get some vocational training so that they can find a job to support themselves later.

In conclusion, the juvenile offense is the consequence of insufficient care from parents and poverty, but efforts made by both family and the government will help reduce it.