Some people think the newly built houses should be the same as the old house style in local areas. Others argue that local authorities should allow people to build houses in their own styles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that there should be a policy regulating housing styles in certain neighborhoods to promote traditional culture. However, I am strongly against that policy proposal as it is a direct violation of an individual’s right to autonomy over private property.

On the one hand, in some areas, uniformity in architecture might better represent and preserve local culture. For example, all houses in the ancient Vietnamese city of Hoi An, regardless of personal preference, are required to follow an architectural style that adheres to its history as a major commercial port in Vietnam. Every so-called “tube house” in the town is constructed with a Chinese tiled roof, Japanese support joists, French louvered shutters and lampposts which are blended harmoniously with indeginous Vietnamese features such as four-square windows. These architectural characteristics cement Hoi An’s cultural identity, which has greatly contributed to its fame as a destination for both international and domestic tourists in recent years.

On the other hand, I believe any law that governs individual housing styles would be injurious against the rights of ownership. For instance, the Vietnamese constitution allows property owners to possess exclusive rights and control over their property, guaranteeing that one is entitled to decide on both the interior and exterior designs of his house, in accordance with their personal preferences. Consequently, attempting to overrule this legislation would justly provoke public’s objections and protest. That is why hundreds of citizens residing in the Hanoi Old Quarter protested in 2009 to repeal a decree that prohibited all modern housing styles in the area, despite the fact that the locals desperately needed greater space to accommodate larger family sizes and a personal desire for more modern housing.

In conclusion, although administrative regulations on housing style might help preserve local architectural culture, I would opine that it violates one of the most fundamental proprietary rights of individuals. In my opinion, governments should instead encourage creativity and innovation in housing design to embrace new trends that better reflect contemporary society.