Some people think the newly built houses should be as same as the old house style in local areas. Others argue that local authorities should allow people to build house in their own style. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

While some people believe that new houses should be constructed in the same style as the more traditional houses in the locality, others contend that everyone should be free to choose their own style for a house. I agree with the view that new buildings should be built with traditional style to preserve their culture.

On the one hand, there are some who argue that it is essential to welcome change and allow individuals to have the right to live in a house with a modern style, if they so wish, irrespective of the locality. They also tend to dismiss traditional ideas on the grounds of building costs. Traditional construction materials, like natural stone from local quarries, are difficult to obtain and very expensive even if they are available, whereas new houses are built using more affordable materials. The maintenance costs of houses constructed in the old way also tend to be higher compared with their modern counterparts. Wood, for example, is nowadays commonly replaced by aluminum or plastic materials in house construction.

On the other hand, new houses should take on the existing architectural style of a local area. traditional houses possess character, and they give a strong sense of identity. Buildings which have historical significance provide a link to our roots, while a modem estate designed by property developers is certain to be incompatible with historical connections. From an architectural perspective, modem houses alongside traditional sights are an eyesore. They fail to blend in with the housing which has grown immensly over the centuries.

In conclusion, though it may be more costly, the traditional architecture of localities should be respected by modem housing developments.