Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is common nowadays that there is an ever-growing number of migrants who struggle with language barrier, which lead to far-reaching implications either in social or pragmatic situations. To a certain extent I agree that this statement does hold water. However, I also believe that this is not a dilemma to the ones with high ability to use the foreign language.

On the one hand, it is often the case that people’s difficulty in language acquisition resulted from their lower threshold of facing the culture shock. In other words, the differences of mutual cultures would provide obstacles to achieving immediate understaning and immerging with the natives. Fortunately, these social problems can be dealt with the help of body language, however, this solution seems not to come in handy in the realm of academic settings which require more professional courtesy.

On the other hand, I believe one’s residence in a country with a foreign language poses no chanllenges as long as they have far enough highly flexible and adaptive communication skill. They can simply crack the local people’s jokes and fully understand such ‘jargons’ and slangs which seems to be only used by local people. They can successfully make comprehensive conversation at work, and comfortably socialise. They would be embarrassed with their misuse of their words or inaccurate pronunciation, but they have the capability to cope with and clarify their messages.

All things considered, it is true that people may find communicating in a foreign language troublesome to their social lives as well as practical circumstances, but in my opinion with a higher level of language proficiency, these problems will be not complicated as though.