Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Thanks to the ever burgeoning international communications, an increasing number of people are moving to a foreign country, which means they have to face a foreign-language-speaking environment. Though the language barrier may cause severe social and practical problems, I think there still some approaches to ease the pain caused by it.

Undeniably, there are many arguments in favor of the negative effects caused by language barrier. For one thing, the lack of the understanding of local language can result in problems when getting access to social services. For example, when taking metros or buses, many instructional signs or transportation system maps are not likely to be available in English, which is difficult for a foreigner to travel alone without the help of others. Also, when going to a bank or a mall, even with the help of translation software, foreigners can hardly express the demands clearly.

For another, the language barrier may also cause social contact issues. It's natural habitat that people are more willing to make friends with same language-speakers, and there's nothing to blame. That's to say, without knowing the local language, it's difficult for foreigners to be friend with locals, not to mention getting integrated. So there are possibilities that some foreigners could suffer loneliness, and with time goes on, the social problems derivate to mental problems.

In spite of the potential problems, it's also possible the language barrier may not become a issue. To illustrate, foreigners can get acquainted with other expats, with whom many mutual topics are easily to be found. Besides, nowadays many universities and communities are organizing activities to help foreigners to get integrated and meet some local people who are openminded. Therefore, for some can have no difficulty living in another country despite the existence of language barrier.

To summarize, under many circumstances language barrier can still be an issue for expats, but there are stills some ways to mitigate it.