Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, a large number of people decides to pursue their education and career in a foreign country, which is usually equivalent to them having to live far away from their homeland. Of course, there have been concerns stating that living in a different nation with their native language distinct from your own will lead to both social and practical issues. From my point of view, it is very understandable why people are worried, and I agree with them.

First of all, people living in a foreign country will definitely have problems regarding socializing with others. The most tremendous and visible issue for everyone is to learn the country's native language. If the language is entirely different from your mother-tongue, it may take months, or even years for you to master it. For example, if an American decides to move to Japan, they will have to learn Japanese - a language with the alphabetical system, grammar, and pronunciation completely irrelevant to English, so unless the mentioned person had already taken some Japanese courses, it would be impossible for them to manage their everyday life. Moreover, if you are travelling to another country alone, it will be an extreme issue for you to rebuild your social circle from scratch. Assuming you have no difficulty using the foreign language, it would still take time for one to make new acquaintances.

Secondly, moving to a new country means countering practical problems. The main justification for this is due to the cultural difference. Each country have their own rules and beliefs, and it is always essential for you to be wary of them in order to avoid unwanted situations. For example, writing someone's name using a red pen is not a serious problem in most parts of the world, but in Korea this is an action of extreme insult, meaning you want that person to perish. And there are various practices like that in other countries, so if you want to move away from your motherland, it is critical to learn about them beforehand - which usually takes time.

In conclusion, in order to settle down in a country with a distinctive native language, it is essential for everyone to prepare for their lives by learning its culture and speaking.