Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The state of the environment is irrefutably one that is alarming for both the important world leaders and ordinary individuals. It is believed by some that the latter part of the society can leave no impact on the current circumstances - only those with power and money can change the tides. However, I believe that the individuals are a force not to be neglected in this battle against pollution.

First of all, it goes without saying that the amount of normal citizens far outnumber that of government officials or coorporation administrators. Therefore, their actions can collectively create a wave of effects impossible to underestimate. Second of all, the individuals in a community are in a position much easier to influence those around them. If a neighbor of yours starts making environmentally conscious choices like installing solar panels or recycling wastes, you are undoubtedly more inclined to make simillar choices than if you saw a company brand do the same. The quantity and intimacy of a community, when combined, can play a major role in deciding the situation of the world's environment.

Another reason why I disagree with the notion that individuals are powerless in improving our surroundings is the psychological gravity they can put on legislators and company owners. Some supporters of this idea may argue that it is the government and CEOs who make the laws and impose lasting changes on the globe, for they hold the most rights while also responsible for the majority of pollutants. However, in a society that runs on democracy, we - the people - are the ones who actually make big decisions. If the community shows a preference for environmentally friendly lifestyles, those in power ought to listen and make changes according to our wishes.

To sum up, individuals are vital in the mission to save the environment. Not only are they large in number, but also large in pressure when united, which would result in a noticeable difference in the long haul.