Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Sometimes in life people have to migrate to a country which requires them to speak a nonnative language. Some people opine that this situation may create significant social and practical problems. I completely agree with this view and will explain the reasons.

Firstly, social problem may occur because language serves as a communication bridge. This is because people use language to express what they want to say. It is inseparable from people's communication, whether it is short or long conversation. Therefore, if someone does not understand the language that most people are using, he will most likely to be isolated from social groups. This can happen everywhere, including in neighborhood and working place. For instance, a guy from United States just moved to Japan where most people are speaking Japanese. Because he does not understand Japanese, he finds difficulty in blending in with people in his neighborhood and working place.

Secondly, practical problem may happen because language can not be separated from doing daily activities. This is because every activity involves using language. This can be purchasing public transportation ticket, ordering food menu and understanding public announcements. Consequently, if someone does not understand language that is mainly used in a country, he will find difficulty in doing his daily activities. For example, a guy from United Kingdom just migrated to Taiwan, where Mandarin Chinese becomes a language that is mainly used, including in food menus. Because he does not really master Mandarin Chinese, he has a trouble in ordering food menu in Taiwan.

In conclusion, I completely agree that living in a country that requires us to speak foreign language may cause both social and practical problems because language serves as a communication bridge and language can not be separated from doing daily activities.