Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Learning a foreign language for immigrants has always been one of the great barricades. It is said that people visiting to live in a foreign country without knowing the language of it may face social and practical problems and I agree with this idea for some reasons.

Many people think that living abroad has several advantages ranging from learning a new language to a wide overview. They say that once people start living in a foreign country, they will have the chance to learn the foreign language and discover the new culture with more or less effort. However, I believe that this is not always the case. People who don’t know how to speak in the language of the country they came from tend to find it difficult to address their messages to the native people there, which may result in them being socially isolated. Another reason that may bring immigrants, who don’t know the language, to the social problems is being unfamiliar with the culture and customs of the country they visited. Without having enough knowledge about the cultural identity of a new place, people may face some misunderstandings when they have conversations with foreigners, thus causing foreigners even to despise them.

It is sometimes argued that it is easy for people to get accustomed to the new life abroad and they also claim that it is not a serious problem to live in a foreign country without knowing the language since people tend to accept any challenges with putting many efforts. In my opinion, I partially disagree with this idea. There are several reasons why people may have practical problems when they are struggling to learn a foreign language abroad. Many immigrants who do not know the language simply face problems in their daily lives, such as finding directions on the street, ordering food in restaurants, and asking someone for help.

In conclusion, I feel that it is impossible to live in a foreign country freely unless people do not know the language, so people should learn the language before visiting a foreign country, therefore avoiding social and practical problems.