Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Regional language is the lifeline of any region. Being a foreigner, living abroad you need to be familiar with it else you have to face consequences not only socially but also practically as well. This essay agrees with this notion for the following reasons.

Vernacular plays a significant role in the economic growth of a country. Firstly, all the local shops and local vendors speak their native language only and to get a job one must be familiar with it, else you will not be able to survive in that region. For instance, a survey conducted by The British Government found that organizations prefer candidates who are good with soft skills irrespective of the fact how someone is good with their technical skills and this is an add-on to their resume. However, the openings were for core technical profiles.

Human beings are social animals and depend on others for their emotional well being. Additionally, to get socialize we need to connect with people on day to day basis and soft skill have always been an important part of communication. So if we are not comfortable with it then we will be unable to convey our thoughts to the people around us and this may impact our public as well as our personal life. For example, once I have visited Paris for office related work and stayed there for a week. I felt left alone for almost two weeks because I didn't know the French.

To conclude, In my opinion, of course, there is a truth in the argument that one should know how to speak a foreign language otherwise it will lead to repercussions emotionally and financially as well.