Many people think that some individuals are naturally good leader. Others think that people can learn leadership skills. Discuss both views.

Whether leadership skills are innate or nurtured has sparked a heated debate. It is argued that leadership skills can be improved through learning and working progress. While this thinking is valid to a certain, I believe that people with gifted leadership skills are more prominent to become a great leader.

First of all, it is indeed true that some leadership skills have to be practiced in order to be obtained. People are not just born with extraordinary skills in leading. On the contrary, most great leaders had to undergo intern phases and observe their leaders. In fact, there are several leadership skills development courses where they teach beginners basic skills. Such skills as public speaking or persuading can be enhanced through these courses, which are very helpful to those who do not have the faintest idea about leading in general.

In contrast, many believe that some people are just naturally superior in leading others, pointing out to great leaders who did not undergo any skills enhancing phase like Martin Luther King. Although some people have to attend courses and practice the skills, some are just gifted with leading talents such as empathy and creativity. Other skills for instance communication or critical thinking can be developed through time, however empathy and creativity are skills that ones have to be gifted to possess. Additionally, leaders are proven to be charismatic, persuasive and are confident, without these aspects, it is substantially harder to become one. This supports the fact that people must have a certain factor which can contribute to leadership, otherwise, they can not be as great a leader as those who are gifted.

In summary, leadership skills can be achieved and obtained through practicing and improving, however I certainly believe that people born with leading talents also have a prominent base to develop into much greater leaders.