Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational,otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

It is argued that children’s leisure pursuits are completely worthless unless they are related to education. While this thinking is valid to a certain, I strongly disagree to that statement and in my perspective, children deserve to do other relaxing and enjoyable activities besides educational ones.

Firstly, children can gain other knowledge from various type of entertainments and relaxation. For instance, video games are proven to be beneficial for the development of problem solving and teamwork skills. Mastering such skills can be advantageous for children at the early ages. Furthermore, they can take a break from school and as the same time, improve skills that are helpful in the near future. Secondly, as students indulge themselves, they are able to release stress that was created at school. As a result, they are somehow motivated to perform better on the next day at school.

Generally speaking, I myself experienced students’ life and found out that students are usually bombarded with assignments and projects at school that prevent them from spending time with family and friends. This could lead to depression, anxiety and other psychology problems. Luckily in my case depression did not appear, although I underwent a phase where I consistently felt lonely and anxious and it affected my studies to a great extent. Therefore, students should be encouraged to spend their precious leisure time with their loved ones. Additionally, student’s leisure time should as well be spent on taking care of their own health. As a student who struggled with sleep deprivation and eating disorder, I can tell that students with poor health condition cannot perform as well as those who are healthy physically and mentally.

In conclusion, although it is crucial that our offspring get enough education needed, entertainment also serve an important role to children’s development, similar to educational activities.